DID YOU KNOW?

The Indiana IRTA was founded in Allen County in 1950. The Bartholomew Retired Teacher's Association (BARTA) was initiated in September, 1966, with retired Superintendent Luther A Lockwood serving as chairman, and Miss L. Francis Smith, retired Elementary Supervisor, serving as secretary pro tem. Membership annual dues were \$1.50.

The longest term of office held by any individual was the office of Treasurer, held by Mildred Maley from 1977 - 1995 (14 years). Roger Helman served as President from 1980 - 1986 (6 years). Many individuals have served as officers down through the years, many more as committee chairmen, and others as members of a committee!

Community Service has been an important project throughout the years for BARTA. In 1993, seventeen volunteers reported 6,115 hours of service. In 2003, 118 volunteers reported 27, 342 hours. Special recognition has been given to members throughout the years by IRTA and Columbus City Officials for this community service. Rosa Nelle Scott, Dorothy Tiemeyer, Luella Webb, Keith Mitchell, Robert Sheedy, Helen Ahlemeyer, Smith Snively, Mary Clark, and Donna Calvin were just some of the many volunteers who recieved recognition by the association for their outstanding service.

BARTA, cooperating with IRTA, has spent years promoting the welfare of local retired teachers. Working with the state legislative branch of government, the retirement fund has been diversified to allow for a better return on investments. Some years, COLA's have been granted because of teacher imput. It is important for retired teachers to protect their Retirement Fund from other state interests! Rosa Nelle Scott, Jean McClellan, Marjorie Foster, and Helen Ahlemeyer, were among the most recent champions of promoting and encouraging favorable legislation for retired teachers.